2022 BioEM Election Announcement

Authored by: Rene de Seze in the name of the Nominating Committee, including Micaela Liberti, Bennett Ibey, Isabelle Lagroye and Marnus Van Wyk

Published on Jan 11, 2022

For the first BioEM board, four board members have been nominated by the presidents of BEMS (2 board members) and of EBEA (2 council members) to ensure continuity to the new BioEM society. These four board members may only serve one term, the 2.5 years mentioned below. For the additional members of the first BioEM board, we have to vote for the positions of President (two years), President-elect (two years as President-elect then two years as President) and for five (5) positions of Board Member (for a two-year term, renewable once upon elections).

As the official time of office should be at the General Assembly of the members at the BioEM 2022 meeting, the first term will indeed be 2.5 years up to June 24 or up to the annual meeting that year 2024.

The nomination procedure resulted in the following candidates for the open positions, in alphabetical order:

  1. President: 2 candidates: Luc Martens and Chiyoji Ohkubo
  2. President-elect (first two years in office as President-elect, then President for two years): 3 candidates: Alexandre Legros, Azadeh Peyman, Maxim Zhabodov
  3. Five (5) Board Members: 11 candidates: Yasir Alfadhl, Anke Huss, Wout Joseph, Philippe Lévêque, Caterina Merla, Satoshi Nakasono, Rich Nuccitelli, Florence Poulletier de Gannes, Frank Prato, Asher Sheppard, Tongning Wu

The election will open on January 17th, 2022 and run for three weeks, ending on February 4th, 2022 (midnight Eastern time = UTC+12). Results will be announced on February 8th, and terms of office for those elected will begin immediately.

The Society strongly relies on your support by voting for these positions. Eligible members (*) will receive a notice from VoteNow (elections@vote-now.com) (to be defined) in the next few days with instructions on how to vote and short CVs of the candidates.

*Eligible members: Only Full members, who paid their membership in 2021 (including Honorary, Emeritus, and Charter for BEMS) are eligible to vote. Student and Associate members are not eligible to vote. As 2021 members of both BEMS and EBEA societies will be freely transferred to the new BioEM society for the first year if agreeing to do so, check that you correctly receive the ballot.